View Full Version : Could I get a little clarification?
17th Nov 09, 12:01 PM
I was trying to build my space marine assault squad that I got from a boxed set last night. While trying to decide what weapons to give my sergeant, I took a look at the codex. The box set comes with an open-ended arm, and two options - a combat shield, or a pistol. However, in the codex, it appears that I'm allowed to have both a pistol and a combat shield.
The combat shield isn't mentioned in the possible replacements for my pistol and chainsword, but later in the additional options with the Meltabombs.
So, my question is, can I have a powerfist, the pistol and the shield all at once? To do this, do I need to modify the shield so that I can attach the hand with the pistol to the hand holding the shield, or is it assumed that I still have a pistol if I have the shield?
Thanks for the info, I'm just trying to build my first army, and want it to be legal.
Yes thats correct, the combat shield is not a replacement, but an addition.
17th Nov 09, 12:08 PM
Yes, you can carry the shield in addition to all of your other weapons. You don't really need to convert anything, the 'assumed pistol' will be fine, but you could always just glue a pistol holster on his hip if you want to be a perfectionist.
With that being said, I'm not a huge fan of combat shields. A 6+ save just isn't cost effective points wise.
17th Nov 09, 12:11 PM
It's been a long time since I bought an Assault Marines kit, but IIRC, the Combat Shield has the pistol on the inside of it.
There's nothing to stop you having the Pistol, Fist, Shield, AND Meltabombs, if the Codex allows it. I'd check but I don't have it to hand, yet it sounds correct - IIRC, it was listed under the same option as the Meltabombs, and there are no limits to Meltabombs, so theoretically that's allowed.
As for WYSIWYG, most people take it that you have the little snippets of your basic equipment all there - no-one will be a dick and say, sorry, "you can fire your Bolt Pistol because your character has a Combat Shield on the arm", and in the very unlikely event that they do, pack up - he's not worth playing with if he's crying over a single S4 AP5 shot.
I usually take it as a rule that ALL upgrades must be modelled, or declared beforehand (other than in tournaments, where we check each others lists), so there's no confusion. If there's no modifications to basic equipment, then there's no need to cry about it.
A Space marine with a Bolter, but no Bolt Pistol, I take as having learnt to master FotM with his Bolter, while the Tactical Marine with Two Bolt Pistols has mastered the ability to "snipe" with his Pistol, and go all guns blazing when they come near.
So, in your example, It's perfectly legal to take the shield, and still have a BP and CCW, but if you upgrade to a plasma pistol, I'd ask that it's either declared if not modelled obviously (i.e holster/not at all), or well, modelled obviously.
17th Nov 09, 12:23 PM
There is also a bit with a combat shield and bolt pistol on the same arm- I think it's on a sprue in the command squad box, if I'm not mistaken. Goes with the company champion? Not that it would be necessary to model the pistol, but if you wanted to...
EDIT: too slow... but I think I'm right about where the bit can be found! The one in the Assault Squad box just has a shield, iirc.
17th Nov 09, 12:23 PM
Awesome! Thanks guys! I will proceed to finish my sergeant tonight. And just because I'm a stickler, and a bit of a perfectionist, I think I am going to try to figure out a way to have both on the model.
17th Nov 09, 12:28 PM
Give him a holster with a pistol in it.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.