View Full Version : Movement
22nd Sep 04, 4:28 AM
Ok today 2 of my friends had a game Necron vs Tau. Well after a mass wipeout of Tau my friend was trying to pick off some Necron warriors my moving, shooting, running away that those anoying Crisis Battlesuits can do (or at least thats what my friend says never read the Tau codex ever). It came down to my Tau friend trying to hop over a bit of terrain by moving 6" and the tape ended up in a strange position.We weren't sure if he made it over to shoot or not but in the end he ended up just moving the Crisis around and getting 18 shots taken against it by the warriors wasting it and pretty much winning it for the Necrons. Well i got a picture to explain the position. The end of the tape (metal bit) hooked on the other side perfectly so he wasn't sure if the Crisis made it. (Not good with Tau units but I think its a Crisis its the one that isnt metal that you get in the battleforce.)
Well any help would be good on this.
22nd Sep 04, 5:49 AM
Does it really matter ? Its entirely subjective. If the metal bit got over the box/building i'd just shrug and let you have it. I'm not going to quibble over a couple of millimetres.
You decided to allow him, and that was the correct decision. If you hadn't, that would have been equally correct. The only one rule about this sort of thing is now you've allowed it, thats the way you play it from now on. Keep house rules/'understandings' consistent from game to game.
22nd Sep 04, 6:05 AM
Heres a little something from the 3rd ED rulebook (i havent found anything in the 4th ED that covers it yet). "Occasionally you'll run into situations which simply arent covered by the rules, or are only hinted in an ambiguous way. At the time it'll be critical, no doubt, the whole game will be hanging on the situation and you and your opponent simply wont be able to agree on an interpretation which favours one or the other of you - I should add that the both of you will be absolutely, totally and utterly convinced that you are right. At these times, rather than allow the game to get bogged down, we advise that you resort to the [I]Hand of Fate[B] rule clarification technique...
Roll a D6 for it."
Though that this might help alot of people as well. Theres more funnyness to it of course (being done by Andy Chamers, that should be expected), but i think only the most important part should be noted. Hope this helps you in the future FlaringPain, and anyone else in a similar predicament.
22nd Sep 04, 6:06 AM
well if ur measuring from base edge to the same base edge im guessing that he wouldnt be able to make it. from what ur saying the box in 6" wide, so if you move from the front of the base, the front of the base should then end up on the very edge of the box, meaning that ur standing on top of it. so no he hasnt made it, hes now standing on top of a box. well thats the way i see it.
22nd Sep 04, 7:11 AM
Yes, you move 6" inches, not 7", which you would do if you moved him all the way over. He should be standing on top of the box.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.