Results 1 to 27 of 27

Campaign Menu Item Mod (currently v0.7.0)

  1. #1
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%

    Campaign Menu Item Mod (currently v0.7.0)

    This mod adds a "Campaign" menu item to the main menu enabling you to select a single player campaign and mission to play. Currently, the Ascension and Tutorial campaigns are listed, as well as the Postmortem campaign created by following WyvernNZ's SP Campaign tutorial, which I also included.

    Download.

    When starting HW2 a "CAMPAIGN" menu item should appear. Clicking on the button should take you to a menu where you can select a campaign to play, followed by another screen where you select the mission. The menus will also keep track of your progress in a campaign, just like the existing singleplayer and tutorial screens! That's as far as you will get, however, as I know of no way to actually trigger the beginning of the mission.

    Screenshots



    Quote Originally Posted by Readme
    INTRODUCTION
    This mod adds a "Campaign" menu item to the main menu enabling you to select a
    single player campaign and mission to play. Currently, the Ascension and
    Tutorial campaigns are listed, as well as the Postmortem campaign created by
    following WyvernNZ's SP Campaign tutorial, which I also included.

    Here's a link to WyvernNZ's tutorial:
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=21997

    INSTALLATION
    1. Extract this archive into your "Homeworld2\Data" directory.
    2. Modify your HW2 shortcut and add the following at the end of it:

    -mod HW2_CampaignMenu.big

    3. If you want to play the included Postmortem campaign, modify your HW shortcut
    again and add the following to the end of it:

    -campaign Postmortem -startingLevel Mission_01

    You will not see the campaign menu in this case, however, as the game will
    skip all the opening screens and immediately start at the beginning of the
    first mission of the campaign.


    INSTRUCTIONS
    When starting HW2 a "CAMPAIGN" menu item should appear. Clicking on the button
    should take you to a menu where you can select a campaign to play, followed by
    another screen where you select the mission. That's as far as you will get,
    however, as I know of no way to actually trigger the beginning of the mission.

    CHANGE LOG



    TO DO

    Last edited by Mikali; 21st Dec 10 at 8:22 PM. Reason: Update
    Download my HW2 mods, maps & tools. link
    Username|SF on Gamespy/Xfire/Hamachi/Gameranger

  2. #2
    movingtarget
    Guest
    When can you get it to work

  3. #3
    asgard00
    Guest
    Ya this was just what I was looking for. Oh are the ascension campaigns the homeworld 2 original campaign?

  4. #4
    Loki
    Guest
    ok, ascension campaigns? wtf r they, there are alrdy a campaign menu,"when u complete HW2"

  5. #5
    "Ascension" is the name for the default HW2 campaign.

    Does this mean you've found a way to make non-default campaigns work? Or are you just making this mod to call attention to the problem and in anticipation of solution?

  6. Child's Play Donor  #6
    Run for the train!!! Dark_Axel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Mikail, you can activate a campaign with the following command-lines...

    "-mod PastRelicsDEMO.big -campaign PastRelicsDEMO -startingLevel M01_Intro_DEMO"

    Maybe you can use those????
    The Dark one has Arrived.

  7. #7
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%

    Update to v0.61

    I've updated the mod to v0.61.

    CHANGES IN 0.61
    * Level descriptions no longer have to be specified explicitly. The mod now reads the necessary information directly from the "*.campaign" files.
    * The file "ModCheckList.lua" has been removed, as it is no longer required.
    * Added several new missions to the Postmortem campaign.
    * Can't remember what else...

    Double Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark_Axel
    Mikail, you can activate a campaign with the following command-lines...

    "-mod PastRelicsDEMO.big -campaign PastRelicsDEMO -startingLevel M01_Intro_DEMO"

    Maybe you can use those????
    Can I execute this from within a LUA file?
    Won't it cause problems if there are two instances of HW2 running at the same time?
    Last edited by Mikali; 27th Sep 04 at 4:51 PM.

  8. #8
    Tim
    Guest
    @Loki: I think this is for choosing custom campaigns created by modders

    @Mikail: some link to files on your page seems to be dead. Specifically, "Map Thumbnail Replacements 1.2", and "Campaign Menu Item Mod 0.61", the URL of the latter says "...CampaignMenu_v0_91.zip", shouldn't it be version 0.61? Can you fixed that please?
    btw, what is this "Postmortem campaign"?

  9. #9
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim
    @Mikail: some link to files on your page seems to be dead. Specifically, "Map Thumbnail Replacements 1.2", and "Campaign Menu Item Mod 0.61", the URL of the latter says "...CampaignMenu_v0_91.zip", shouldn't it be version 0.61? Can you fixed that please?
    btw, what is this "Postmortem campaign"?
    Fixed. Thanks for telling me!

    "Postmortem" is a continuation of WyvernNZ's campaign mod, which is an implementation of the "Postmortem" tutorial found in the Relic documentation.

  10. #10
    Mr. Pete
    Guest
    Bumping is nasty i know, but extra campaigns would be godlike. any news?

  11. #11
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    I've been thinking about a random campaign generator (all done in LUA)...

    You'll notice that the Postmortem campaign in my mod has many missions, with each mission requiring that a separate action be done in order to complete the mission.
    I've been considering how these "parts" might be assembled into a whole. But, the solution hasn't presented itself, yet.
    There would need to be an unbalanced, player-vs-computer map generator, as well.

    I had another thread discussing this, elsewhere, but without the search function I can't find it!

  12. #12
    Avatar Terminus
    Guest
    Silly search function. The Postmortem still isn't playable, then, unless you tweak the starting of Homeworld2?

  13. #13
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    Make sure that you are using the shortcut (included) to play the Postmortem campaign.

  14. #14
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    I've tried experimenting with the 'execute' function in order to get another instance of Homeworld running, except with the desired campaign and level. But, so far I havan't had any luck. Maybe I got the syntax wrong. Any ideas?

  15. Child's Play Donor  #15
    Run for the train!!! Dark_Axel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Mikail...
    I don't think you can use the statement directly..
    Since it would obviously create a second hw2.exe

    But could it exit the current HW2.exe and start a new HW2.exe with the new custom parameters to fit the selected campaign...

    Here by I will also like to donate my current campaign..
    Which I created together with WyverNZ (he ain't around much anymore) and I stopped working on it and thus lost interest, because I hit a AI problem I couldn't fix, after many defferent attempts...
    (also the lack of interest in the community for editing SP campaigns is a problem in helping finding anwsers, and the Devs are mostly working on DoW now)

    PastRelics DEMO 0.99c BETA

    I stopped working on 4 months ago...
    But should somebody could help me on the AI fix then I will probably start working on it again...

  16. #16
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    But could it exit the current HW2.exe and start a new HW2.exe with the new custom parameters to fit the selected campaign...
    Dunno. Do you think you could give it a try? The function intimidates me.

  17. #17
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    @Dark Axel

    What problems are you having, exactly, with the AI?

  18. Child's Play Donor  #18
    Run for the train!!! Dark_Axel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Hmm, had a detailed description at an old thread...

    In general the Ai is meant to assault the player...
    I had an incomming fleet which was scripted to move/attack the player (several different commands used)... The commands weren't carried out...
    Modding the ai also doesn't work..

    Second the AI doesn't do anything untill you attack them..
    The are only resourcing, after an attack they will start to pruduce ships...

  19. #19
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    Could you be a liitle more specific about what it is that you want? You're still being kind of vague.
    A) what is that you want them to do,...
    B) what is that they are doing,...
    C) what is it that you can't get them to do.

    In my experience, they will build ships regardless of whether you attack them or not.
    Also, if you set their tactics to aggressive, then they will eventually attack you. They won't be as aggressive about controlling the map as they are in multiplayer, though.

  20. #20
    Major_Focker
    Guest
    hey mikail let me know if you get the "Multiple Campaigns" thing working fully, because we're going to need it for our mod as im planing on having at least 2 seperate campaigns.... if this can actualy be set up to work.

  21. #21
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    I was able to get the AI to behave the way it does in multiplayer, so I added another mission featuring this, and updated the mod to v0.62.

    (At some point previously I had made four additional missions and added them to the campaign. However, I seem to have misplaced them, as they weren't in the archive last time I checked.)

  22. #22
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%

    Update to 0.7.0

    Download.


    CHANGE LOG

    0.7.0
    • After trying the mod on a fresh installation I noticed that the campaign
    screen was completely blank! This was because the scripts assumed that the
    player had played all three of the campaigns (Tutorial, Ascension and
    Postmortem) to some degree already, and thus had some record of playing them
    in his or her "playercfg.lua" file. Oops! The scripts should now detect
    whether this is in fact the case, and display the menus properly to those who
    haven't played the campaigns yet.
    • I externalized the configuration settings once again, this time into
    "Data\UI\newui\campaigncfg.lua".
    • Modified the button text in the last screen to indicate that clicking on it
    will not start the mission like would if it were working properly.
    Last edited by Mikali; 20th Dec 10 at 7:57 PM.

  23. #23
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    Added some screenshots.

  24. #24
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    Also working on a grid-based level selection menu:



    This way, with a little tweaking, you could have a strategic map with sectors organized by location.

  25. #25
    Member Dim@'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Battlecruiser complete
    That's quite pretty.

    If you could get them unlocked in a non-linear fashion, though !!
    Destroying things is easy.
    Creating things is hard.
    Creating things in order to watch them explode is just plain fun.

    Explosion Damage Script, Scripting Tutorial

  26. #26
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    You can download the work I've done for the grid based menu here.

  27. #27
    Lost in the code... Mikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    %HW2_ROOT%
    I've continued the grid version here since it no longer shares the same code base.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •