Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

"Realistic" Space Warship Design?

[AoD]

"Realistic" Space Warship Design?

Hello everyone! I used to post here a long time ago, but now I'm back. Anyhooooo, I've started working on this science-fiction story, and it happens to involve 'realistic' space warfare. That sort of set me started on wondering exactly what a realistic space warship would be like. Of course, it's improbable that there would be actual space warfare in the first place - in the context of our civilisation for the next few hundred years to come - because it takes tremendous amounts of resources and energy just to build spaceships that aren't supposed to go and blow each other up. But let us suspend disbelief for a little while and imagine, purely hypothetically, what a space warship that is feasible given modern scientific knowledge and technology, might be like. Keep in mind that I'm just an amateur - I probably know a lot less about space physics than most people on these forums, so if there's something wrong with my reasoning, by all means, step in and correct me.

First of all, I believe that it wouldn't look anything like Homeworld. Homeworld looks cool, but it's not realistic. My first conception of 'realistic' space warfare is a little similar to submarine warfare in that 1) being in a small, confined space in a dangerous environment, if you get hit by the enemy (or vice-versa), it's likely to do a lot of damage very quickly, 2) you and the enemy are both difficult to detect, and 3) your vehicle is tremendously expensive to build and operate.